Bucket List

 

This past weekend I spent time with a long time (over 50 years) dear friend.  She is dying.  She has just made the tortuous decision to stop treatment and let nature take its course.  She is starting to make plans for her funeral service.  I think she is mostly at peace with her decision.

It may be too late for her to have a Bucket List—all the things you want to do before you die, but it made me think of what I want in my bucket.  Most of all, I want time.  Time to enjoy life without having to go to work day in and day out.  Time to enjoy the grandchildren I hope to have someday.  Time to enjoy the family and friends already in my life.  Time to dig in my garden.  Time to make quilts, and knit, and refinish furniture.  Time to travel  to unseen places and return to places I already know and enjoy.   Time.

What is on your bucket list?

A toast to our missing friend who could not attend my daughter’s wedding because she was

doing chemo.

About mypurplepeony

I live in beautiful Northern California in the town of Chico. I love to do home improvement projects and fiber crafts such as knitting, crocheting, quilting and sewing. My latest passion is refinishing furniture. I am a fanatic about learning the Spanish language and study at every opportunity.
This entry was posted in Long time friends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bucket List

  1. Linda Toledo says:

    Sorry to hear about your friend. Your friend is very brave to stop treatment. I too have a dear friend who is fighting against cancer. Her goal is to see her younger daughter marry next March. My bucket list is to work a few days a week because I do enjoy my job, yet spend more time with my aging parents, my husband, my boys and friends. I also want to be around to enjoy my future grandchildren, watch them discover the world around them. I want to go on many trips too. I want more time to work out, hike, shop, or even staying at home doing nothing. These days I feel I am in a rush.

Leave a Reply

